## Section 1.—Administration and Organization of Education in Canada

With certain exceptions, laws relating to formal education in Canada are a provincial, rather than a federal, prerogative. As a result, each province has organized a system of education to meet its own needs and, although they have much in common, no two systems are identical. Quebec and Newfoundland exhibit the greatest divergence from the general pattern, the former because of its French and Roman Catholic background and the latter because of the continuance of a system developed when the province was an independent British Colony.

To meet their responsibilities in the field of education each of the ten provinces has a government Department of Education; the first was organized in Quebec in 1846 and the last in Newfoundland in 1920. Except in the Province of Quebec, the Department is headed by a provincial Cabinet member who serves as Minister of Education. Minister is appointed by the Lieutenant-Governor on the recommendation of the Premier from among elected members of the Provincial Legislature. In Quebec, the senior professional educationist, the Superintendent of Education, is appointed by the Lieutenant-Governor in Council and remains in office during good behaviour or unless the Legislative Council and Legislative Assembly both request his withdrawal. He is President of the Council of Public Instruction, which is composed of a Roman Catholic Committee and a Protestant Committee. The Department of Education deals with matters of administration, finance and inspection and the Lieutenant-Governor in Council has authority to approve or disallow regulations prepared by the two Committees. A Quebec Royal Commission has recommended a reorganization of the administration of education to more closely resemble that in the other provinces.

Elementary and Secondary Schools.—Formal education at the elementary and secondary levels is administered from the provincial Departments of Education which operate under provincial school law or laws, issue regulations, and provide services to public schools throughout the province (including separate schools in those provinces where such schools exist). In addition to administering various grants, the provincial departments, among other things: operate teacher-training colleges or arrange for the universities to offer preparatory education courses; issue teachers' certificates; issue courses of study for the elementary-secondary schools; prescribe textbooks or lists of books; employ school inspectors or superintendents; conduct end-of-the-year examinations for the final year or two of high school; and issue certificates to successful candidates. In some provinces other departments of government may have responsibilities for special schools or courses. For example, in Quebec the Department of Education, its services and financial contributions come under the jurisdiction of the Department of Youth and a few schools are maintained by other departments, such as Schools of Agriculture, a School of Fisheries and a Forestry Station which operates three schools.

Provision for separate schools for Roman Catholics is handled differently in different provinces. In Ontario, Saskatchewan and Alberta (as well as in the Yukon and Northwest Territories), the first school established in a community is known as the public school, which is open to all children in the community. The school law provides, however, that a religious minority (which in these provinces is usually Roman Catholic) may establish its own school board and school. Such schools are referred to as separate schools. Local residents may elect which school they choose to support through taxes, their choice generally being deter mined by their religion. Both public and separate schools come under the jurisdiction of